Monday Mentions! – Money, Dollars, Money

by Jessica on March 23, 2015

Good Monday Morning! Everybody wants money but everybody’s got bills. I pulled a few recommends from the staff from the Monday & Business section.
We’ve got plenty more with this came from at the store!

It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want to Be: The world’s best selling book
By Paul Arden

This book is hands-down my favorite! Paul Arden gives us the rules of success in the most simple and encouraging way. I highly recommend adding this book to your library!

Recommended by Chelsea

Succeed: How We Can Reach Our Goals
By Heidi Grant Halvorson

Written with clarity and scientific rigor as well as a healthy dose of humor, this is probably one of the most responsibly researched and well-presented books on goal achievement that you will ever read. You will learn: What has gotten in the way of achievement; how you set goals that you’re not conscious of; tools for assessing future goals; and why the “think positive” motto doesn’t ensure success. For fans of John Medina and Mary Roach.

Recommended by Sarah

A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future
By Daniel H. Pink

I love this book! When I was in school, everybody (parents, teachers, counselors) promoted the professions as a way to the top of the economic ladder. Just a few years later it was the professions augmented by computer know-how that would vault you into the financial stratosphere. But now with professional information available online, and routine computer work outsourced to Asia, those careers we once thought the path to security are fast becoming the Western world’s 21st Century dinosaurs. So how do we compete in the new global economy? Sensitivity! Compassion! Ingenuity! In short, melding our right-brain (emotional) propensities with our left-brain (analytical) capabilities. And how do we do that? What will we reap if we succeed? Read this inspiring work, and prepare to take a new enlightened path to success in business and in life.

Recommended by Jan

 

Have a fab week!

— Jess