The new Books on the Block This Week Are…

by Jessica on June 9, 2015

Drum Roll Please….
Got some good things being released in Paperback this week!!

Hardcover:

More Fool Me
by Stephen Fry
$29.95

As the 80s drew to a close, he began to burn the candle at both ends. Writing and recording by day, and haunting a never ending series of celebrity parties, drinking dens, and poker games by night, he was a high functioning addict. He was so busy, so distracted by the high life, that he could hardly see the inevitable, headlong tumble that must surely follow. Filled with raw, electric extracts from his diaries of the time, More Fool Me is a brilliant, eloquent account by a man driven to create and to entertain revealing a side to him he has long kept.

The Truth According to Us
by Annie Barrows
$28.00

From the co-author of “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society“comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what’s right.
Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, “The Truth According to Us, ” brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever.
In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck’s father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. But once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty.
At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues of ferocity and devotion a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her charismatic father and the reason her adored aunt Jottie remains unmarried. Layla’s arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a new tale about the Romeyns. As Willa peels back the layers of her family’s past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed and their personal histories completely rewritten.

Annie Barrows will be joining us on June 10 at 7pm!!

Your Baby’s First Word Will Be Dada
by Jimmy Fallon
$16.99

Your baby’s first word will be . . .

“Dada “

Right?

Everyone knows that fathers wage a secret campaign to ensure that their babies’ first word is “Dada “

But how does it work?

One of the most popular entertainers in the world and NBC’s “The Tonight Show” host, Jimmy Fallon, shows you how.

Paperback:

The Handsome Man’s De Luxe Cafe
by Alexander McCall Smith
$14.95

Over the years Mma Ramotswe has found many lost things, but never before has she been asked to help a woman find herself until now. A kindhearted brother and sister have taken in a nameless woman with no memory of her own history or how she came to Botswana. It falls to Precious Ramotswe and her new co-director, Grace Makutsi, to discover the woman’s identity. Meanwhile, motherhood proves to be no obstacle to Mma Makutsi’s professional success, as she launches a new enterprise of her own: the Handsome Man’s De Luxe Cafe, a restaurant for Gaborone’s most fashionable diners, even if it becomes quickly apparent that she’s bitten off a bit more than she can chew. And next door, Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni is forced to make a choice that will directly affect not only Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors, but the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency as well. With sympathy and indefatigable good humor, Mma Ramotswe and her friends see one another through these major changes and discover along the way what true friendship really means.

The Magician’s Land
by Lev Grossman
$16.00

The stunning conclusion to the bestselling Magicians trilogy
Quentin Coldwater has been cast out of Fillory, the secret magical land of his childhood dreams. With nothing left to lose he returns to where his story began, the Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic. But he can t hide from his past, and it’s not long before it comes looking for him.
Along with Plum, a brilliant young undergraduate with a dark secret of her own, Quentin sets out on a crooked path through a magical demimonde of gray magic and desperate characters. But all roads lead back to Fillory, and his new life takes him to old haunts, like Antarctica, and to buried secrets and old friends he thought were lost forever. He uncovers the key to a sorcery masterwork, a spell that could create magical utopia, a new Fillory but casting it will set in motion a chain of events that will bring Earth and Fillory crashing together. To save them he will have to risk sacrificing everything.
“The Magician’s Land”is an intricate thriller, a fantastical epic, and an epic of love and redemption that brings the Magicians trilogy to a magnificent conclusion, confirming it as one of the great achievements in modern fantasy. It’s the story of a boy becoming a man, an apprentice becoming a master, and a broken land finally becoming whole.

Rose Gold
by Walter Mosley
$15.95

Rosemary Goldsmith, the daughter of a weapons manufacturer, has been kidnapped by a black revolutionary cell called Scorched Earth. Their leader, Uhuru Nolica, is holding her for ransom and if he doesn t receive the money, weapons, and apology he demands, Rose Gold will die horribly and publicly. So the authorities turn to Easy Rawlins, the one man who can cross the necessary lines to resolve this dangerous standoff and find Rose Gold before it’s too late.
In the sixties era of black nationalism, political abductions, and epidemic police corruption, Easy’s investigation will pull him unremittingly and inevitably into the darkest underbelly of Los Angeles.